Photography: Stage – Front of House

As part of my ongoing work with StageWorks Toronto, I have provided them with portraits of the cast and crew for their 2012 production of Urinetown. They will be using these photos to create a Front of House board profiling the actors and their characters.

When taking the portraits, my goal was to keep them thematic by making use of a dilapidated toilet. What’s more, as there is a clear divide between the Rich and the Poor in Urinetown, I elected to set up the Rich and Poor portraits differently.

I wanted the Poor to look helpless and harassed, as if they were in the process of being interrogated. For the Rich, I chose to seat them comfortably, and I made use of lighting to give the impression that they were shady and two-faced.

The Poor

The Rich

